Autumn Warmers – Rimmel wake me up

 

Autumn has well and truly settled, leaves have scattered, the chill in the air is crisp and the mornings are dewy.  My summer tan has all but disappeared but I’m still looking for a more fresh faced, radiant glow when it comes to my base.  I do prefer a lighter coverage like a BB cream or at least something with a similar consistency and finish, because even though its Autumn the sun still has days when its out in force.  So I looked through my foundation draw to find something to give me a nice glow and out jumped ‘Rimmel Wake Me Up – foundation‘.

I’ve used the ‘Rimmel Wake me up – Concealer‘ before and have loved its results – brightening, non cakey and a perfect colour for me.  I particularly like it around the eye (not right underneath as it does crease on me there) and where I might usually do cream highlighting (nose, cupids bow).  I don’t like to use it on blemishes as in my opinion this concealer is more aimed for brightening, rather than covering spots.  I use the lightest shade and its perfect for me both naturally tanned or when I’m paler.

To match my concealer, I picked the shade ‘Ivory 100‘, which was the lightest available to me. It is a little bit light on my skin, so I like to use a bronzer lightly on the perimeter of the face and a little on the neck to help match me a little bit better. I generally apply it with a ‘Real Techniques Expert Face Brush‘.  I use one pump at a time, dotting it in my targeted areas (nose, chin) and then dot around the rest of my face, not forgetting my neck.  First, I stipple the product to build coverage and then I buff it in.  I find this foundation very sheer on my skin so if I feel the need for a bit more coverage, I once again go in with one pump.  I try to avoid building this foundation too much as it will cake, so I suggest a colour correcting primer if you have concerns like dark spots or redness.  For me, this sheer coverage is just enough to brighten and yes ”wake me up”!

Pictured is the Rimmel Wake Me Up and Bourjois Happy Light.  I have also included the powder I like to use.  Lioele Skin Pact in 21 Light Beige SPF 27 +++, on hot days.

Another foundation that I use for a similar effect is the ‘Bourjois Happy Light in51 Vanilla Rose‘ and ‘Maybeline Age Rewind in Brightener‘.  I use this foundation with a Beauty Blender and apply it in a similar fashion as the Wake Me Up.  I like this foundation when I’m looking for a slightly warmer base as the foundation is peachy toned.

Left:  Rimmel Wake Me Up – Ivory and Concealer   Rgiht:  Bourjois Happy Light – Vanilla Rose and Age Rewined 


                 Thank you for reading & make sure to follow Sweetsomethings in the sidebar!

                  (c)All pictures belong to SweetsomethingsNZ 30th March, 2014
4 thoughts on “Autumn Warmers – Rimmel wake me up

Leave a Reply

