Chocolate Frezny!! – Easter makeup


Whatever your reasons for celebrating Easter there is one thing that will bring most of us together and that is…  chocolate lol!  I thought it would be fitting to have a look through my collection and find some Easter goodies hidden within my stash, so I gathered my basket and went searching.  Here are my Easter picks all related to makeup.  

When looking through my collection I had one idea in mind, the item either had to have a chocolate themed name and or colour.  I also thought it would be cute to add a little nod to the Easter bunny so you will see that in the face section.  So lets get into this chocolate frenzy.

EYES

Too faced Chocolate Bar Palette:  Of course this had to be part of an Easter makeup post!  Its practically made with the Easter bunny in mind haha.  This palette has 16 shades, from pale beige to deep bronze and a few pops of colour to boot.  Each shadow is infused with a sweet scent of cocoa that lingers on the eye for while and this makes the overall experience while using this palette a dream.  This is an amazing pallete offering boths mattes and shimmers, most shadows are beautifully rich in pigment soft, buttery, and dense in texture and blend like a dream.  You can create smooth, rich chocolaty looks that are both endearing and sweet.   The left side really helps create that choclate smokey eye!
Clinique Chubby Stick Shadow Tint for Eyes-Fuller Fudge: I love the concept of these because I love cream eyeshadows, but it’s not all fluffy bunnies-I have an issue with them.  The eye tints give a sheer wash of colour onto the lids which is buildable and very blendable, but I don’t find these to be long wearing, which is a shame as the price in NZ for these are pretty high.  Fuller fudge is a gorgeous chocolate brown shade-perfect for in the crease or all over the lid for a more dramatic, smokey look.

FACE

Bourjois Bronzer Primer and Bronzing Powder: I love the bronzing primer.  I find it to be a velvety, blendable formula for a warmed complexion, perfect for a natural bronzed glow and subtle contour.  The bronzing primer has a great wear time on me and stays matte throughout the day.  I don’t use this as a primer as its dark enough for me as is.  I don’t liken this to a true chocolate scent but a more fruity chocolate. When it comes to the powder its a love hate relationship.  Sometimes I love the subtle  healthy tanned glow its provides and other times I am left thinking “have I even bronzed or contoured today?”.  I like to use my XO beauty bronzer bursh as it is quite dense and picks up enough product.

NYX Blush – Mocha:  When I think of mocha, a rich heady chocolate colour comes to mind but this is not the case with this blush, instead Mocha is a lovely deep pink.  I love this blush all year round.  It has gives a pretty matte pink flush to the cheek and as with all NYX blushes, it is really pigmented and has fantastic wear throughout the day.  It compliments any makeup look I choose to do and just looks so flawless.

Benefit Boxed Blush – Dainty:  This is my nod to the Easter Bunny.  Dainty is a soft, shimmery pink, that reminds me of a fluffy pink bunny.  Everything about this blush screams cute and sweet.  It looks natural and just makes me glow beautifully.  I use Dainty as more of a ‘top coat’, adding a soft shimmer to any blush, because even on my fare skin it doesn’t quite flush the cheek.  I also use this blush as a highlighter.

LIPS

Maybelline ColorSensational lipstick – Tantalising Taupe:  This is a perfect nude for me.  Its not too opaque that it washes me out but provides enough pop of colour, no coclealer lips for me, lol.  Paired with a chocolaty smokey eye, Tantalising Taupe will finish of the look perfectly.  Just like the other ColourSensational lippies I’ve tried in the past, this is creamy, pigmented and feels lovely and light on the lips.  I will definitely be getting some more.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Penceil – Walkyrie:    This is such a unique colour and so hard to exaplain.  I never thought I would pick up a color like this but I’m seriously obsessed with it. It’s not for everyone, but I think it has enough warmth in it to keep it from being a “90’s brown” lip colour and yet this browny, maroon lipstick makes me think of Buffy or Clueless when I wear it, which I don’t mind.  If you have dry lips this is  not the lip pencil for you, like a true matte you can expect this lipstick to be long wearing and slightly drying.  I really like Walkyrie. It’s an unexpected favorite because I never thought I would love a brown lip color. If you love matte lipsticks and deep autumn colours then this is for you!

Revlon Lip Butter – Raspberry Pie:  This is an honorable mention as the colour although not chocolate themed does make me think of sweets.  Its a juicy raspberry colour that its both pigmented and hydrating on the lips.  To me this is like the beautiful foil surrounding a chocolate egg.  Just like a foil wrapper it completes the Easter fun and adds a stunning pop of colour to the face.

So there you have lovelies, my Easter post.  I hope you have a happy and safe Easter weekend and have a great time however you celebrate this wee holiday xx
Thank you for reading & make sure to follow Sweetsomethings!
  (c)All pictures and posts/opinions belong to SweetsomethingsNZ 8th April, 2014
Leave a Reply

