Lets get naked series #2

This is my second post for the naked series, the third is coming at ya next week.  ( A repost from my other blog but still a great review).  At the time I had been wanting to try Revlon Nearly Naked Mineral Foundation SPF 15 for quite some time but had never got around to purchasing it.  It was pretty pricey (here in NZ it will set you back $39.99) so I was really hoping it would live up to its hype.  Luckily at the time of purchase I had a beauty voucher so I grabbed myself a pot and set out to give this a go.

I found this ‘foundation’ to be sheer and light weight, not really giving any coverage (like a foundation), so I always pair it with a light to buildable base like the ‘Bourjios Healthy Mix Serum Foundation (Shade 52)’ or the ‘Garnier BB Cream (for oily skin, shade light)’.  To achieve a ‘nearly naked‘ look I like to prime my skin and then do my highlighting.  I use the ‘M.A.C Prep+Prime‘ highlighter pen in ‘Radiant Rose‘ to get that bright, fresh under eye look.  I then go in with my base of the day.  This is where the ‘nearly naked‘ part comes in.  I’m in the shade medium.  I use this powder to build up coverage slightly and to set my makeup.  I use either the ‘Real Techniques Powder Brush‘ or my ‘Eco Tools Domed Bronzer‘ brush and stipple it on rather than dust it over.  I find this technique works best for me.  I then follow on with my blush and bronzer of the day and set it all with my ‘Lioele Dewey Mist setting spray.  This locks in my makeup and helps the powder foundation to settle rather than stick to any fine hairs.

I don’t really enjoy the scent of the powder but it doesn’t linger too long and didn’t effect my skin

I find this mineral foundation to be finely milled, with a nice natural colour and finish .  It hasn’t caked on me and seems to last quite well, in saying this I don’t tend to wear a full face of makeup for more than 4 hours.  This powder is my first introduction to mineral powder foundation and so far suits my needs as I like a light, natural finish.  I don’t grab for this a lot but when I’m not in the mood for a lot of makeup or a lot of fuss this is a great product.  It has peeked my interest in the Antipodes mineral line, as I here it is quite similar to the Tarte mineral foundation.

Have you tried this?  If so how do you wear it, with foundation or without? I would love to know!

Thank you for reading & make sure to follow Sweetsomethings in the sidebar!

-Rachill

               (c)All pictures belong to SweetsomethingsNZ 15th June, 2014

Leave a Reply

