Halloween – The Vampire Edit

Hi Sweets,

vamp coll1When it comes to Halloween and costumes there are a couple that I think everyone thinks of.  For me Vampires, although almost a generic and common costume, are something iconic to the horror genre and something I new I could whack together quickly, with no need to go out and buy a specific outfits or makeup (minus the teeth).  Vampires have always been one of my favourite creatures and something that have always intrigued me, so this was the perfect chance to give the vampirus look a go .  (no humans were hurt in the making of this makeup).

the facemkupcollI started with a fresh clean face and primed the skin using Bourjois – Flower Perfection Primer, to smooth out the pores and help my foundation glide over any ‘face demons’ I had.  I then used the matching foundation, Bourjois – Flower Perfection in Shade 51, as I wanted a flawless complexion.  To sculpt the face and give me those vampiric cheek bones I lack naturally, I used my trusty NYX Blush in Taupe and the eye-shadow ‘Backdoor’, from the Urban Decay – Smoked Palette, which I also used for my eye look.  To further the ‘dimension giving steps’, I lightly dusted Tartes – Exposed blush over the perimeter of the face, as although I wanted to look slightly angular and sunken, I didnt want to look like a blood deprived vamp.  I then moved on to the eyes and as you can see in the pics, I went for a very angled, cat like eye.  I did a smokey eye and brought the shadow in a lot further inward from the crease to open my eyes and add a little shadow to the eye socket.  To create the sharp point on the inner corner and slight wing on the outer wing, I used Rimmel Scandaleyes Kohl Kajal in ‘Black’.  Finishing off the look, I thought it was really important to use a vampy, burgundy colour and Milani’s – Black Cherry, was the perfect choice for this.  A super long wearing lipstick that is perfect for those long, blood thirsty nights.  I also added some subtle corner lashes to really give the smokey eye, that finishing touch.

vamp2

bloody vampI hope you have had an awesome week and are having fun experimenting with makeup.  Remember, you don’t have to be a professional to create something super fun and spook-urific.  I’m clearly not amazing at all the techniques I did, but I am happy with the finished look.

As always thanks for stopping by, please follow my blog using tab on the left if you like, I would love you to join the Sweet family  😉
-Thanks, Rachill
 
(C) ALL PICTURES/POSTS BELONG TO SWEETSOMETHINGSNZ and should not be used unless permitted. 2014
One thought on “Halloween – The Vampire Edit

Leave a Reply

