The kind of chubby-ness I am ok with gaining!

Hi Sweets, 

cl1Today I am coming at you with a quick review of the Clinique  – A whole lot of chubby set!  A set of four mini chubby sticks and a charming makeup bag.

cl2

cl3

cl6

whoppin watermelon, plushest punch, pudgy peony, grandest grape

I love a good lip crayon so when I saw this holiday set from Clinique (the A whole lot of chubby set), I snapped it up..  It was great value and a novel way for me to try these lip products out.  The set includes 2 Chubby Sticks, which are the more gloss like lip crayons, 2 Intense Chubby Sticks and a small but cute makeup bag.  

I have never used any Chubby Sticks from Clinique before so I didn’t know what to expect and so far I am really liking them.  I have learnt to never underestimate the power of a lip product that can be applied without a mirror or provides a pretty colour and sheen, without faffing about.  Outwardly they look and act like every other lip crayon and in most ways they are.  They are very similar to Revlon Kissable Balm Stains, however they differ in texture and have an almost waxy formulation.  The waxy balm works in this lip prodcuts favour, as it allows the Chubby Stick to glide effortlessly over the lips and dispenses the colour evenly!  I find the texture to be quite smooth, easily applied, and very hydrating. They have a no fragrance and no discernible taste and last an average of two to three hours, before I need to slap another layer on the lips.

Another aspect that I have really enjoyed from the Chubby Sticks is the glossy finish.  Sometimes lip glosses can be very sticky and impractical on a windy day but these give you the shine you’re seeking without the sticky texture.  

The Chubby Stick in 06-woopin’ watermelon, is the sheerest colour, in fact there is almost no colour detectable.  It would be great over a lip liner, or to chuck on if your lips are need a little moisturising but I am disappointed that the colour of the crayon doesn’t come through.  15-pudgy peony is sheer pink, that is a ‘my lips but better’ kinda colour, nothing particularly exciting yet very practical.  The Intense formula pacts a lot more colour, unsurprisingly and provides a lovely ‘bitten’ look to the lips.  05-plushest punch, is an opaque raspberry pink, that looks vibrant and juicy on the lips.  08-grandest grape, is a cranberry grape and the darkest colour of the bunch and leaves a subtle stain as it fades (I love the names and the packaging is lovely).

Overall, these are a fantastic lip products to keep in your bag or slap on when in a rush but I don’t think they are any better or any worse than the good ‘ol Revlon Kissable Balm Stain.  I am glad I have them and love how they feel and look on the lips but I  don’t think I will be rushing back to get more (unless you have any suggestions).

This Sunday I am excited to bring you the first of my Holiday-licious series (ugh cringe-still working on the name,haha).  A delicious holiday drink to warm you up and get you in the festive mood!   

As always thanks for stopping by, please follow my blog using tab on the left if you like, I would love you to join the Sweet family;)
-Thanks, Rachill

(C) ALL PICTURES/POSTS BELONG TO SWEETSOMETHINGSNZ and should not be used unless permitted. 2014

 

11 thoughts on “The kind of chubby-ness I am ok with gaining!

  1. annie'sbeauty... says:

    Love all the colours in this set! Even though they never appealed to me, everybody talks only in good notes about this little thingies… I might have get myself at least one to see what all the fuss is about… 😊xx

Leave a Reply

