Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit – time to create some cheekbones

Hi Sweets,

anc1Contouring!  There is nothing better than applying a great base, and turning a semi ‘flat’ looking face into a sculpted, defined face that is ready to take on the day, honey (insert sassy finger snapping), with cheekbones high and highlight glowing.  I have a round face, so I don’t do anything too extreme, just add a simple shadow and give my face a little bit more of an angular appearance.  And if you are anything like me you LOOOOVE palettes, so the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit was something I was instantly interested in.

anc2anc3anc4This is a fantastic ‘do it all’ face palette when it comes to defining, highlighting and generally shaping the face.  It contains six highly pigmented powders that will aid in giving you the appearance of a good night’s sleep, draws in light in an incredibly natural way and cheekbones that weren’t there 10 minutes ago (who doesn’t love a good cheekbone moment).  Each powder is removable and replaceable, with lots of customisable contouring colours available.  I got the ‘generic’ light to medium contour kit from beautylish.com, at $40US.  So let’s break down the contour…

Give me light:  highlights

Vanilla  – this is a beautiful pink based, creamy white.  It is matte and sets concealer effortlessly and highlights of the high points the face in a really natural way.

Banana – the oh so popular yellow powder that contour fanatics die over.  Banana is a smooth matte yellow powder that once again can be used to set concealer and highlight the under eye area.  When I use this powder, I use a very light hand otherwise it just doesn’t work on my pale skin.

Sand – is a subtle champagne shimmer that is amazingly natural and compliments my complexion very well.  I like to focus this powder on the bridge of my nose and cupids bow.

Fo chisel:  contours

Java – a neutral brown that blends out the contour shade (fawn) and warms the complexion.  It is a soft cool conflicting brown, that doesn’t pull to red or orange but still livens up the face.

Fawn  – fawn is the giver of dimension, a true taupe shade with subtle hints of grey.  This is the matte contouring powder that you can rely on when your face is in need of shadowing and shape.

Havana – a highly concentrated red based bronzer that elevates the face into ‘goddess’ status.  This is another shade that I really need to tap off and lightly, I stress lightly dust around the perimeters of the face, to give a healthy bronzed glow.  I love this shade!

anc5I have to say the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit really impressed and surprised me.  It is totally worth the hype and the price.  Although the original kit won’t cater to all skin colours, I love the fact that you can customise the contour shades online (smart move there, Anastasia Beverly Hills!).  Each powder is incredibly smooth and buttery in texture and blends seamlessly, the powders do kick up a little excess but this doesn’t affect the overall quality and application of each powder.  If you love a good contour and highlight or are in need of a good travel companion then this is a must!

Do you have any other recommendations for contouring or bronzing?  Have you made any exciting makeup purchases?  I would love to know!

 

5 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit – time to create some cheekbones

Leave a Reply

