Maybelline Colour Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencils // A review

Hi Sweets,

mcd1After what seemed an age the Maybelline Colour Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencils (long enough name?) finally came out in NZ and have recently been stocked in store.  After seeing many amazing Uk and NZ bloggers review these lip pencils and with them comparing the lipsticks to the NARS lip pencils, I knew I would want to get my hands on these.  I stalked the shelves of Farmers and the like for a good month and finally they are available and this makes me sooooo f***ing happy!

mcd2mcd3mcd4 The Maybelline Colour Drama Lip Pencils, are $11.99 and when I got mine from Farmers they had a deal of by 2 get 3rd free #winning.  These Lipsticks are a wooden pencil and are a little bit smaller than other lip pencils on the market, but because they are so affordable it doesn’t matter.  They will require sharpening as you wear the initial ‘tip’  down, but they are easy to sharpen and the lip product doesn’t crumble etc.

The Colour Drama Lip Pencils, are really creamy, apply smoothly and are opaque.  I don’t feel like I need to slather this product all over my lips to get a good colour pay off and because of its pointed tip, I find it really easy to line and fill in the lips.  I didn’t find them to be all that velvety in texture or finish (like the NARS Velvet Lip Pencils) but rather a buttery texture that doesn’t tug on the lips and applies effortlessly.  During wear I did notice the sheen disappeared after a few hours and they did dry my lips out a little bit (at the 3 hour mark).  I tested each colour out for 5 hours and noticed that they did transfer to cups and food and after 5 hours of some eating and drinking, I was left with a subtle stain and somewhat noticeable line around my lips.  Some of the colours also had what I would call a micro shimmer, they gave off a really nice lustre effect and weren’t gritty on the lips.

mcd5I only got 4 shades to begin with and am thinking of getting a couple more because the price and colour pay off of these lip pencils are so worth it.  They are a little bit more high maintenance than I am used to but, nothing a little reapplication doesn’t fix.  So for a whopping $11.99 why the shizz wouldn’t you go and try these out?

 What shades have you tried out?  Do you think you’ll be checking any of them out?

20 thoughts on “Maybelline Colour Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencils // A review

  1. Lena says:

    I have the shade Fuschia Desire, and I really like it! I want more but I’m on a total no-buy currently. Might have to do some online surveys to get a farmers voucher lol.

  2. BonnieBeautyxo says:

    I’ve got 4 shades atm and trying to collect the rest and will do a review. Freaking love these so much!!! The formula is the best out of all the jumbo lip pencil I’ve tried from drugstore brands!

Leave a Reply

